The department of Computer Science at the Technische Universität Kaiserslautern offers a

W 1 Professorship Position (Juniorprofessor, no tenure track)
for "Engineering of large, software-based heterogeneous systems"


to be appointed as soon as possible. We expect the candidates to work on important aspects of the design, implementation, or deployment of large, distributed, dynamically evolving systems spanning heterogeneous elements (e.g., software, hardware, heterogeneous user groups). These aspects should be of use for different societally important processes including human interaction, like large systems within the “Industrie 4.0” / IoT, election systems, smart grids, mobility managing systems, social networks, or autonomous systems. The candidate should do research in one or more of the following fields:

  • Dynamic systems, for instance, management of dynamically registering and de-registering hardware, self-certification of dynamic systems, and trust in dynamically evolving systems.
  • Dependable and secure systems, for instance, through integration of AI components.
  • Systems with explicit user interaction, in particular considering user-related data and incentive mechanisms.
  • Design, implementation, and deployment of autonomous systems.
  • Aspects of trust, privacy, transparency, and safety in large, dynamic, and heterogeneous systems.

The envisioned professorship should extend and strengthen the scope of the department’s existing expertise, in particular with respect to the holistic process of system design, implementation, and deployment. We would like the candidate to engage in our new field of study, called “socio informatics”, and to search cooperation with the members of our department.

Besides outstanding academic qualifications, we are looking for a candidate with experience in third-party funding and the implementation of such projects. Candidates are expected to be willing to cooperate with existing research groups at the university (disciplinary or interdisciplinary).

In addition to public service employment regulations, the conditions of employment regulated in §54 of the Universities Act of the state Rhineland-Palatinate apply. The text can be found on the homepage of the University of Kaiserslautern (in German, only) (http://www.uni-kl.de/universitaet/verwaltung/ha-1/ha1-rechtsvorschrift/).

Rhineland-Palatinate and the University of Kaiserslautern support a mentoring concept in which teachers are expected to be present on campus as much as possible. Candidates must be willing to cooperate with the self-administration at the university.

The University of Kaiserslautern strongly encourages qualified female academics to apply. Kaiserslautern is a family friendly university which offers a high level of support to applicants with children.

Disabled applicants will be given preference when equally qualified (please enclose evidence).

Applications together with supporting documents in German or English (CV, academic background, list of publications, a summary of third-party funds acquired, copies of reports and certificates and a copy of the five most important publications should be sent by latest 30 June 2018 to the below address:

Dean of the Department of Computer Science
University of Kaiserslautern
PO Box 3049
67653 Kaiserslautern
Germany.

Please also send your application as a PDF file along with a completed candidate data sheet to dekanat@informatik.uni-kl.de. A more extensive classification of the professorship can also be found here. For further information please contact Prof. Dr. Peter Liggesmeyer (liggesmeyer@cs.uni-kl.de).

Further Information

PDF (82kB, 2018-05-16) [more ...]
Placement and perspective of the advertised W1-Junior-Professorship
PDF (71kB, 2018-05-16) [more ...]
Please fill out this form and send it as an attachment by email in the format "yourName-ehs.doc" to the Office of the Dean Department of Computer Science - dekanat@informatik.uni-kl.de. Please don't change the layout.
DOC (38kB, 2018-05-16) [more ...]

An der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern ist im Fachbereich Informatik eine

Juniorprofessur (W 1)
für "Engineering of large, software-based heterogeneous systems"


zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt zu besetzen. Die Stelleninhaberin oder der Stelleninhaber soll das Fachgebiet in Forschung und Lehre vertreten. Von den Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern wird erwartet, dass sie sich mit wichtigen Aspekten des Entwurfs, der Implementierung und der Einbettung von großen, verteilten, dynamisch evolvierenden Systemen über heterogene Elemente (z.B. Software, Hardware, heterogene Nutzergruppen) hinweg befassen. Diese Aspekte sollten für verschiedene gesellschaftlich wichtige Prozesse von Nutzen sein, wie z.B. das menschliche Zusammenleben, große Systeme in der Industrie 4.0 bzw. im Internet der Dinge, Wahlsysteme, Smart Grids, Mobilitätsmanagementsysteme, soziale Netzwerke oder autonome Systeme. Die Bewerber sollten in einem oder mehreren der folgenden Gebiete forschen:

  • Dynamische Systeme, z.B. Management von sich dynamisch an- und abmeldenden Geräten, Selbstzertifizierung von dynamischen Systemen oder Ausbildung von Vertrauen in sich dynamisch verändernde und evolvierende Systeme.
  • Betriebssichere und datensichere Systeme, z.B. durch Integration von KI-Komponenten.
  • Systeme mit direkter Nutzerinteraktion, insbesondere Umgang mit Benutzerdaten und Anreizmechanismen.
  • Entwurf, Implementierung und Einbettung von autonomen Systemen.
  • Vertrauen, Privatheit, Transparenz und Sicherheit in großen, dynamischen und heterogenen Systemen.

Die geplante Juniorprofessur soll die bestehende Expertise des Fachbereichs erweitern und stärken, insbesondere im Hinblick auf den ganzheitlichen Prozess von Systementwurf, Implementierung und Einbettung. Das Engagement der Bewerberinnen und Bewerber in unserem neuen Studiengang Sozioinformatik ist erwünscht.

Neben hervorragenden akademischen Qualifikationen sollten die gesuchten Bewerberinnen und Bewerber über Erfahrung mit Drittmittelfinanzierung und mit der Umsetzung entsprechender Projekte haben. Ferner wird die Bereitschaft zur Kooperation mit bestehenden Forschungsgruppen an der Universität (disziplinär oder interdisziplinär) erwartet.

Die Besetzung der Stelle erfolgt im Beamtenverhältnis auf Zeit für die Dauer von drei Jahren und kann nach positiver Evaluation um weitere drei Jahre verlängert werden.

Neben den allgemeinen dienstrechtlichen Voraussetzungen gelten die in § 54 des Hochschulgesetzes Rheinland-Pfalz geregelten Einstellungsvoraussetzungen. Der Text ist auf der Homepage der TU Kaiserslautern hinterlegt (http://www.uni-kl.de/universitaet/verwaltung/ha-1/ha1-rechtsvorschrift/).

Das Land Rheinland-Pfalz und die Technische Universität Kaiserslautern vertreten ein Betreuungskonzept, bei dem eine hohe Präsenz der Lehrenden am Hochschulort erwartet wird. Die Bereitschaft zur Mitarbeit an der Verwaltung der Hochschule wird vorausgesetzt.

Das Auswahlverfahren wird an die Bestimmungen des Hochschulgesetzes Rheinland-Pfalz über die die Berufung von Professorinnen und Professoren angelehnt.

Die TU Kaiserslautern ermutigt qualifizierte Akademikerinnen nachdrücklich, sich zu bewerben. Bewerberinnen und Bewerber mit Kindern sind willkommen.

Schwerbehinderte werden bei entsprechender Eignung bevorzugt eingestellt (bitte Nachweis beifügen).

Bewerbungen mit den üblichen Unterlagen in deutscher oder englischer Sprache (Lebenslauf, wissenschaftlicher Werdegang, Publikationsverzeichnis, Übersicht zu den eingeworbenen Drittmitteln, Kopien von Zeugnissen und Urkunden sowie je ein Exemplar der fünf wichtigsten Veröffentlichungen) werden bis zum 30. Juni 2018 erbeten an das

Dekanat des Fachbereichs Informatik
Technische Universität Kaiserslautern
Postfach 3049
67653 Kaiserslautern.

Bitte senden Sie Ihre Bewerbung auch als PDF-Datei zusammen mit einem ausgefüllten Bewerber- Datenblatt, das weiter unten zum Download bereitgestellt wird, an dekanat@informatik.uni-kl.de.
Unter dieser URL finden Sie auch weitergehende Auswahlkriterien und eine Einordnung der Professur am Standort. Für Rückfragen steht Ihnen Prof. Dr. Peter Liggesmeyer (liggesmeyer@cs.uni-kl.de) zur Verfügung.

Weitere Informationen

PDF (687kB, 2018-05-16) [mehr ...]
Einbettung und Perspektiven der zu besetzenden W1-Juniorprofessur
PDF (78kB, 2018-05-16) [mehr ...]
Wir bitten darum, dieses Formular auszufüllen und als Anhang in der Form "eigenerName-ehs.doc" per E-Mail an das Dekanat Informatik, dekanat@informatik.uni-kl.de zu senden. Bitte verändern Sie das Layout nicht.
DOC (34kB, 2018-05-16) [mehr ...]